Vegan MoFo in the House! – Guest Post

Back in the day, I had a blog of my own. From 2000 until about 2005, I posted regularly and participated in the blogosphere and enjoyed having a way to share my thoughts with the world. I stopped writing everything though, and not long after came Facebook and Twitter, so there didn’t seem much of a point anymore.

But sometime last month, I heard about the Vegan Month of Food. Every October, people (presumably mostly vegans and mostly food bloggers) write about vegan food. For some reason, I thought this sounded like a really inspiring way for me to explore fun new recipes and possibly start writing something again. Cherie has been very kind in offering me the chance to guest post here this month so I can participate. More than that, she’s also supporting my efforts by eating vegan on Mondays this month. That’s a pretty impressive incentive in my book.

Surely there are folks out there who have figured out in advance the topics they will cover this month. Tonight, I’ll just start out with an introduction. My name is krista, and I am vegan. I’ve only been vegan for three months, though I spent several years as a strict vegetarian, so the cooking isn’t new to me. The convenience foods have seriously improved though. I try to eat whole foods as much as possible, but it’s really nice to have options. I am fortunate enough to live in a neighborhood with multiple options for dining out too, and I’m sure I’ll touch on that at some point. I’m very grateful to have the options that are near me.

There hasn’t been much food in this post yet, so I’ll end on a tasty note. My favorite vegan food to cook (so far) is from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero. When the book first came out, everyone was going nuts over the chickpea cutlets, but a friend suggested I try the black bean burgers instead. Awesome advice, y’all. They’re made with black beans, vital wheat gluten, aromatic veg, and Mexican spices, and they are really amazing. They reheat well too, so they’re great for lunch the next day. I like them on a bun or not with a bit of Vegenaise and a side of roasted sweet potatoes. That’s some seriously tasty eats.

Well, thanks again to Cherie for allowing me the space to post, and thanks to you all for checking out my first post here. Let me know if there’s a topic you’d like me to cover, and I’ll see what I can do. Take good care!

– krista.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

