Three things I’ve learned

This is a tough one again. No big revelations this week.

  1. My dog’s teeth aren’t as bad as I feared. We had an assessment with the vet. He said Pierogi could have her teeth cleaned without anesthesia–a good thing, since it made her very sick when she was spayed. Her tartar isn’t below the gum line, and if we keep up with cleanings she may not need scaling again. After hearing so many people talk about their dogs having teeth pulled, I’m relieved that her issues aren’t serious.
  2. I enjoy public radio membership drives. I felt left out this year. For a few reasons, I had to renew late this year, in between drives. I increased my contribution this year, so I feel that I made up for my two-month lapse in renewal. But I didn’t get to play the premium game and feel part of the action. But still I tuned in. It’s fun to hear the crazy desperation as the hour closes and they want to make their goal. Also, I’m now close enough to go volunteer on the phones again, and I didn’t. I vowed to do so for the winter drive. I loved volunteering for the drives and even met one of my dearest friends during a shift.
  3. I don’t see the love for panko or any breadcrumbs. I don’t really understand how people can say that they add a great texture to a dish. They don’t do much for me. Breadcrumbs on macaroni and cheese adds nothing to the dish in my opinion. Panko-breaded chicken strips weren’t any better than regular crumbs when I tried it last night. Maybe I’m doing something wrong. Or maybe it’s just not my thing.

Wow. That was underwhelming. No new knowledge. I suppose I learned a lot about earthquakes (or was reminded of stuff I’d read in the past) after the East Coast temblor. I spent some time at the USGS site yesterday. There’s a lot of great information there.

2 Comments

Filed under Three Things

2 responses to “Three things I’ve learned

  1. Jen

    You are one of the few people I have ever heard that like the NPR fundraising drives. They drive me bonkers. Luckily, there are now 2 NPR stations in Boston and I can bounce around.

Leave a Reply

