Three Things I’ve Learned (8-10-11 edition)

This week’s list was easy.

1. My dog’s elimination habits are interesting to no one but me and the bf. They do not make for interesting blog posts.

2. I can fix my printer myself. Thanks to the wonderful world wide web, I found instructions on how to make my all-in-one printer-copier-scanner print again. I searched for “canon pixma troubleshooting” and found my issue listed in a forum, followed by step-by-step instructions on how to remedy the error message. I was able to print my half-price daily deal coupon for frozen yogurt–hooray!

3. General practitioners are not the same as family practice physicians. In fact, physicians can no longer choose a general practice title. GPs only completed one year of training after medical school. Family practice physicians must complete two to four years of residency. GPs were phased out in the 1970s in the US. I had no idea; I always thought the two titles were interchangeable. Apologies to the family practice physician in my household, who set me straight. (For the record, he has no issue with GPs. He met a GP yesterday and was telling me about their chat. The GP was licensed back in the early 70s, when they had a year of training as a resident, then went on to learn on-the-job in a rural community.)

I also learned that takins exist. This was among the things I learned on a visit to the San Diego Zoo.

Oh, and I was informed that I will not be called for an interview by a nearby hotel. I’d applied recently for a front desk job and was glad to get any reply at all. At least I won’t wonder if they’ll call.

1 Comment

Filed under Three Things

One response to “Three Things I’ve Learned (8-10-11 edition)

  1. Jen

    I had no clue about takins myself. Also the different types of hyennas and the pygmy hippo with a monkey on it’s back.

    Interesting about the family versus general practitioner. I did not know the difference.

Leave a Reply

