Lists

I like lists. I make to-do lists, grocery lists, things-to-save-up-to-buy lists. I keep a little notebook in my wallet to jot down ideas and to keep my lists on hand. [Side note: somehow I have not had to purchase a notebook or notepad. I tend to get them as gifts or promotional items. Right now I have two tiny Moleskine notebooks from a friend.)

I’d prefer to keep my list on my phone so that everything is in one place. But I haven’t found a notes app that I like for the Android. Funny how something so simple can be so hard to find. I have an idea of what I’d like to see in a notes app, but I haven’t seen anything close to that. The Google tasks means I enter a ‘task’ for every item on my grocery list and can only keep one list at time. I find it hard to believe that Google hasn’t created something or that there isn’t enough interest to warrant the effort to make such a thing.

If you’ve got a great notes app for the desktop or smartphone, please share your resources.

In the mean time, how about a fun list? I notice a lot of bloggers and online types (including one of my four readers) post lists each week. Not sure I’ll make it a weekly thing, but I’ll try it today. In honor of the upcoming holiday, I’ll list five reasons I enjoy the Fourth of July:

1. Despite my unhappiness with certain politicians and my concern that lots of things are headed in a bad direction, I am still glad to have the privilege to live in the USA and have clean water, access to food and healthcare (as screwy as it may be), and a million choices available to me every day. I can vote, drive a car, get a job–many things women can’t do in other countries. (Though that last one is tough for me these days.)

2. I get to have the bf home with me for three days in a row!

3. Dear friends will be in town, so we’ll get to spend quality time with them. They’ve only met the bf briefly, so it will be a chance for everyone to get to know each other.

4. Fourth of July is the one holiday when people get together and celebrate our lives without the stressful obligations of other holidays. Everyone who lives here is welcome to celebrate (no related religion, for the most part), and we don’t have to worry about which family to visit, what gifts to give, or anything of that sort. We just gather, grill, eat, look at sparkly stuff in the sky, and enjoy summer.

5. Bunting! Those who know me know that I have a warm spot in my heart for bunting. I love the old timey look of the stars and stripes bunched up on the railing of homes on the 4th. That’s one of the many reasons why I loved 4th of July in Philly so much. That place was bustin’ with bunting!

Leave a comment

Filed under Productivity

Leave a Reply

